Code Name Hélène

Code Name Hélène

Author: Ariel Lawhon

Publisher: Anchor

ISBN: 9780385544696

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 419

Download BOOK »

Based on the thrilling real-life story of a socialite spy and astonishing woman who killed a Nazi with her bare hands and went on to become one of the most decorated women in WWII—from the New York Times bestselling author of I Was Anastasia "This fully animated portrait of Nancy Wake ... will fascinate readers of World War II history and thrill fans of fierce, brash, independent women, alike." —Lisa Wingate, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours Told in interweaving timelines organized around the four code names Nancy used during the war, Code Name Hélène is a spellbinding and moving story of enduring love, remarkable sacrifice and unfaltering resolve that chronicles the true exploits of a woman who deserves to be a household name. It is 1936 and Nancy Wake is an intrepid Australian expat living in Paris who has bluffed her way into a reporting job for Hearst newspaper when she meets the wealthy French industrialist Henri Fiocca. No sooner does Henri sweep Nancy off her feet and convince her to become Mrs. Fiocca than the Germans invade France and she takes yet another name: a code name. As Lucienne Carlier, Nancy smuggles people and documents across the border. Her success and her remarkable ability to evade capture earns her the nickname The White Mouse from the Gestapo. With a five million franc bounty on her head, Nancy is forced to escape France and leave Henri behind. When she enters training with the Special Operations Executives in Britain, her new comrades are instructed to call her Helene. And finally, with mission in hand, Nancy is airdropped back into France as the deadly Madam Andree, where she claims her place as one of the most powerful leaders in the French Resistance, armed with a ferocious wit, her signature red lipstick, and the ability to summon weapons straight from the Allied Forces. But no one can protect Nancy if the enemy finds out these four women are one and the same, and the closer to liberation France gets, the more exposed she—and the people she loves—become.
Code Name Hélène
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Ariel Lawhon
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-31 - Publisher: Anchor

Based on the thrilling real-life story of a socialite spy and astonishing woman who killed a Nazi with her bare hands and went on to become one of the most decorated women in WWII—from the New York Times bestselling author of I Was Anastasia "This fully animated portrait of Nancy
Code Name Hélène : Inspired by the gripping true story of World War 2 spy Nancy Wake
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Ariel Lawhon
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-31 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Woman. Wife. Smuggler. Spy . . . TV SERIES IN DEVELOPMENT STARRING ELIZABETH DEBICKI (TENET, THE CROWN) AS NANCY WAKE A thrilling and heart-wrenching novel inspired by the astonishing real life story of Nancy Wake. Perfect for fans of Suzanne Goldring's MY NAME IS EVA, Kate Quinn's THE ALICE NETWORK
Code Name Helene
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Ariel Lawhon
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020 - Publisher:

Books about Code Name Helene
Code Name Hélène
Language: en
Pages: 716
Authors: Ariel Lawhon
Categories: Code names
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020 - Publisher:

In 1936 intrepid young Australian journalist Nancy Wake is living in Paris after witnessing firsthand the terror of Hitler's rise in Europe, firing her resolve to fight against the Nazis. When Nancy falls in love with handsome French industrialist Henri Fiocca, no sooner has she become Mrs Fiocca than the
Code Name Helene : Inspired by the Gripping True Story of World War 2 Spy Nancy Wake
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Ariel Lawhon
Categories: Code names
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-31 - Publisher: Headline Review

Books about Code Name Helene : Inspired by the Gripping True Story of World War 2 Spy Nancy Wake