Night Moves: Pop Music in the Late '70s

Night Moves: Pop Music in the Late '70s

Author: Don Breithaupt

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN: 9781466871380

Category: Music

Page: 240

View: 414

Download BOOK »

The late 1970s brought us an eclectic mix of popular music--everything from big hits (and even bigger hair) to cult favorites, along with the dawn of disco and punk, the coming of corporate rock, the rise of reggae and new wave, and some of the most progressive, inventive songwriting of the century. Whether you cranked up your radio for Bruce Springsteen, Stevie Wonder, Supertramp, the Bee Gees, Talking Heads, Rickie Lee Jones, or Earth, Wind and Fire, you'll relive those heady days with this compulsively readable, behind-the-scenes account of the "Frampton years," an era when pop became very big business. It's all here, from ABBA to Zevon. Night Moves by Don Breithaupt and Jeff Breithaupt is a feisty, funny volume that will leave pop fans of every stripe feeling Reunited, Afternoon Delight-ed, and Still Crazy After All These Years.
British Culture and Society in the 1970s
Language: en
Pages: 310
Authors: Laurel Forster, Sue Harper
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-12-14 - Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing

This collection of essays highlights the variety of 1970s culture, and shows how it responded to the transformations that were taking place in that most elusive of decades. The 1970s was a period of extraordinary change on the social, sexual and political fronts. Moreover, the culture of the period was
LIFE Celebrate the '70s
Language: en
Pages: 96
Authors: LIFE Magazine
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-10 - Publisher: Time Home Entertainment

The 1970s may have yielded some epic disappointments, including Watergate, the gas crisis, and Disco Duck, just to name a few, but the 1970s also delivered some extraordinary delights: The Fonz, leisure suits, Star Wars, Farrah Fawcett and the biggest red, white, and blue celebration the nation has ever known.
Jazz in the 1970s
Language: en
Pages: 264
Authors: Bill Shoemaker
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-12-20 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

Breaking through pervasive misconceptions, Jazz in the 1970s explores a pivotal decade in jazz history. Many consider the 1970s to be the fusion decade, but Bill Shoemaker pushes back against this stereotype with a bold perspective that examines both the diverse musical innovations and cultural developments that elevated jazz internationally.
Sonic Cool
Language: en
Pages: 595
Authors: Joe S. Harrington
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: Hal Leonard Corporation

(Book). In the tradition of Nick Tosches, Tom Wolfe and Lester Bangs comes an epic and riveting history of rock and roll that reads like a novel. Sonic Cool presents the saga of rock and roll as the closest thing we have to genuine "myth" in the modern world, and
No More Heroes?
Language: en
Pages: 102
Authors: Carl Neville
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-03-27 - Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

The interface between neoliberalism, steroids, cocaine, finance and American mythology as reflected in the films of the 70s and 80s.