Mile End Girl

Mile End Girl

Author: Maggie Ford

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781473573314

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 655

Download BOOK »

Can this East End girl find a better life? Born in a tenement on the Isle of Dogs, Jessie has higher hopes for her future. When she manages to land a job at the Telephone Exchange, her earnings allow her to join the choir at the People's Palace. There, she catches the eye of the charming James Medway who sweeps her off her feet. But married life isn't a bed of roses, and when Jessie falls pregnant it quickly becomes clear that James is far from the doting husband she'd hoped for. Can Jessie find a way to stay strong for her baby? A heart-warming and gripping East End Saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Maggie Hope.
Mile End Girl
Language: en
Pages: 480
Authors: Maggie Ford
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-06-23 - Publisher: Random House

Can this East End girl find a better life? Born in a tenement on the Isle of Dogs, Jessie has higher hopes for her future. When she manages to land a job at the Telephone Exchange, her earnings allow her to join the choir at the People's Palace. There, she
The East End Girl in Blue
Language: en
Pages: 324
Authors: Fenella J. Miller
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-06 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

As the war rages on around her, one girl in blue's life is about to change forever... Even in wartime, East End girl Nancy Evans has reason to hope. She's a rising star in the Women's Auxiliary Air Force and she'll be walking down the aisle any day now... but
An East End Girl
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Maggie Ford
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-01-12 - Publisher: Random House

Will she ever be anything more than an East End girl? Cissy Farmer longs to escape her life in London's Docklands where times are hard and money is tight. And when she meets the debonair Langley Makepeace, her dream seems within reach. But the price of belonging in Langley's brittle,
At the Mile End Gate
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Sally Worboyes
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-05-04 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'She brings the East End to life' Barbara Windsor The Second World War is over and the troops are coming home - but so much has changed . . . The war is over and the soldiers are coming back to the bomb-ravaged East End. Tom Smith is one of
Report
Language: en
Pages: 660
Authors: Great Britain. Dept. of Science and Art
Categories: Manual training
Type: BOOK - Published: 1877 - Publisher:

Books about Report