Behind The Wall

Behind The Wall

Author: Colin Thubron

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781446499641

Category: Travel

Page: 320

View: 959

Download BOOK »

Having learned Mandarin, and travelling alone by foot, bicycle and train, Colin Thubron set off on a 10,000 mile journey from Beijing to the borders of Burma. He travelled through the wind-swept wastes of the Gobi desert and finished at the far end of the Great Wall. What Thubron reveals is an astonishing diversity, a land whose still unmeasured resources strain to meet an awesome demand, and an ancient people still reeling from the devastation of the Cultural Revolution.
The Boy Behind the Curtain
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Tim Winton
Categories: Literary Collections
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-05-04 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

'Eclectic and impassioned, a collection that affirms the power of the written word' Observer The Boy Behind the Curtain is a portrait of a life, a place and a man. In this deeply personal collection of true stories and essays Tim Winton shows how moments from his childhood and life
The Boy Behind The Wall
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Maximillian Jones
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-14 - Publisher: Welbeck Publishing Group

A page-turning thriller for 11+ readers set on either side of the Berlin Wall, perfect for fans of Alex Rider and CHERUB. What would you risk for a friend you've never met . . . ? In 1960s Berlin the Wall is everywhere. It cuts through streets, parks, even houses.
The Ghost Behind the Wall
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Melvin Burgess
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003-04-01 - Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (BYR)

Award-winning author Melvin Burgess's thrilling new ghost story for younger readers. David screamed and the ghostly boy opened his mouth and screamed back. But his scream wasn't the scream of a child—it was the scream of an old, old man. "Come back, come back," screamed the ghost in his cracked
Behind the Wall
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Elizabeth Ann Kuhn
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-03-11 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

BEHIND THE WALL of a Trappistine Monastery, under Papal Enclosure, tread only the Monks and Nuns who vow to live in this Order of their own free will. This is the story of a young girl aspiring to the heights of her vocation under the Cistercian Rule of Saint Benedict.
Life Behind the Wall
Language: en
Pages: 528
Authors: Robert Elmer
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-05-06 - Publisher: Zonderkidz

Cut off by the Iron Curtain This epic tale extends across generations and unfolds against the backdrop of a dangerous Cold War Berlin. This historically accurate, action-packed, three-books-in-one edition features three generations of resourceful teens living in the shadow of the Berlin Wall. Titles include: Candy Bombers: In spring 1948,