The Cater Street Hangman

The Cater Street Hangman

Author: Anne Perry

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 9781453219089

Category: Fiction

Page: 287

View: 166

Download BOOK »

In the debut of the New York Times–bestselling Victorian crime series, Inspector Thomas Pitt seeks an elusive strangler among upper-class British society. Panic and fear strike the Ellison household when one of their own falls prey to the Cater Street murderer. While Mrs. Ellison and her three daughters are out, their maid becomes the third victim of a killer who strangles young women with cheese wire, leaving their swollen-faced bodies on the dark streets of this genteel neighborhood. Inspector Pitt, assigned to the case, must break through the walls of upper-class society to get at the truth. His in-depth investigation gradually peels away the proper veneer of the elite world, exposing secrets and desires until suspicion becomes more frightening than truth. Outspoken Charlotte Ellison, struggling to remain within the confining boundaries of Victorian manners, has no trouble expressing herself to the irritating policeman. As their relationship shifts from antagonistic sparring to a romantic connection, the socially mismatched pair must solve the mystery before the hangman strikes again. Rich with authentic period details and blending suspenseful mystery with a budding romance between Inspector Pitt and Charlotte Ellison, The Cater Street Hangman launched the long-running series by Edgar Award–winning author Anne Perry, with recent titles including The Angel Court Affair and Treachery at Lancaster Gate. Also the creator of the William Monk Novels, Perry has become one of the great names in detective fiction. As the Philadelphia Inquirer says, “Pitt’s compassion and Charlotte’s cleverness make them compatible sleuths, as well as extremely congenial characters. . . . Perry has the gift of making [the Victorian era] seem immediate and very much alive.”
The Cater Street Hangman
Language: en
Pages: 287
Authors: Anne Perry
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-06-14 - Publisher: Open Road Media

In the debut of the New York Times–bestselling Victorian crime series, Inspector Thomas Pitt seeks an elusive strangler among upper-class British society. Panic and fear strike the Ellison household when one of their own falls prey to the Cater Street murderer. While Mrs. Ellison and her three daughters are out,
The Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Novels Volume One
Language: en
Pages: 750
Authors: Anne Perry
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-03-13 - Publisher: Open Road Media

Return to the origins of the Victorian-era sleuthing couple with the first three mysteries in the “unfailingly rewarding” New York Times–bestselling series (The New York Times Book Review). “For nearly four decades Anne Perry’s riveting detective novels have played out against the backdrop of the Victorian era” (The Washington Post).
The Cater Street Hangman (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 1)
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Anne Perry
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-03-26 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A deadly killer stalks the streets of Victorian London... The Cater Street Hangman is the opening novel in Anne Perry's bestselling Victorian crime series, introducing us to her acclaimed characters Inspector Thomas Pitt and Charlotte Ellison. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart. 'Give her a good
Los crmenes de Cater Street / The Cater Street Hangman
Language: es
Pages: 328
Authors: Anne Perry
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003 - Publisher: DEBOLSILLO

Books about Los crmenes de Cater Street / The Cater Street Hangman
The Cater Street Hangman
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Anne Perry
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1998-06-13 - Publisher: Fawcett

The Ellison sisters were proper young Victorian ladies. In the foggy streets outside their peaceful home, five women were found horribly murdered. And Police Inspector Pitt found himself wondering if the Ellisons were in fact too good to be true. Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.