The Dude and the Zen Master

The Dude and the Zen Master

Author: Jeff Bridges

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101600757

Category: Self-Help

Page: 288

View: 482

Download BOOK »

The perfect gift for fans of The Big Lebowski, Jeff Bridges's "The Dude", and anyone who could use more Zen in their lives. Zen Master Bernie Glassman compares Jeff Bridges’s iconic role in The Big Lebowski to a Lamed-Vavnik: one of the men in Jewish mysticism who are “simple and unassuming,” and “so good that on account of them God lets the world go on.” Jeff puts it another way. “The wonderful thing about the Dude is that he’d always rather hug it out than slug it out.” For more than a decade, Academy Award-winning actor Jeff Bridges and his Buddhist teacher, renowned Roshi Bernie Glassman, have been close friends. Inspiring and often hilarious, The Dude and the Zen Master captures their freewheeling dialogue and remarkable humanism in a book that reminds us of the importance of doing good in a difficult world.
The Dude and the Zen Master
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Jeff Bridges, Bernie Glassman
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-08 - Publisher: Penguin

The perfect gift for fans of The Big Lebowski, Jeff Bridges's "The Dude", and anyone who could use more Zen in their lives. Zen Master Bernie Glassman compares Jeff Bridges’s iconic role in The Big Lebowski to a Lamed-Vavnik: one of the men in Jewish mysticism who are “simple and
Dude and the Zen Master
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Jeff Bridges
Categories: Big Lebowski (Motion picture)
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012 - Publisher:

Books about Dude and the Zen Master
Instructions to the Cook
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Bernie Glassman, Rick Fields
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-06-18 - Publisher: Shambhala Publications

Zen is not just about what we do in the meditation hall, but what we do in the home, the workplace, and the community. That's the premise of this book: how to cook what Zen Buddhists call "the supreme meal"—life. It has to be nourishing, and it has to be
The Hazy Moon of Enlightenment
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Bernie Glassman, Taizan Maezumi
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-06-07 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

The Hazy Moon of Enlightenment takes the reader to the next level of Zen practice, exploring some of the more subtle and sophisticated topics in Zen. The first two parts of the book explore enlightenment and delusion: What is nature of enlightenement? What does it mean to describe enlightenment as
Bearing Witness
Language: en
Pages: 217
Authors: Bernie Glassman
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999 - Publisher: Harmony/Bell Tower

The founder of a group called The Zen Peacemaker Order outlines ways of making peace through powerful stories of people who have made peace with themselves, their addictions, and their families through self-honesty and compromise. Reprint. 15,000 first printing.